Fermes Leclair Market gardeing on the South Shore of Montreal Fermes Leclair Market gardeing on the South Shore of Montreal

Fermes Leclair

We are a family-run market garden farm on Montréal’s South Shore

At Fermes Leclair, market gardening is more than a profession; it’s been a genuine passion handed down from one generation to the next since the 1800s. Our farm was officially founded in 1971 by André, Ernest and Maurice Leclair and has been run by Maurice with his children Jocelyn and Diane since 1995. Over the years, grandchildren Benjamin, Gabriel, Nicolas and Rosalie have joined the team, and this generation will eventually take over the business.

Today, our farm extends over some 320 hectares (800 acres) dedicated essentially to vegetable farming in the fertile area of Saint-Patrice-de-Sherrington, in the Montérégie region on Montréal’s South Shore.

Our company follows principles of eco-responsible farming, growing and packaging carrots, radishes, green onions, beets, fine herbs and watermelons. Every year, we add more fresh fruits and vegetables in response to consumer demand and in keeping with our family’s focus on innovation as a core value. A large part of our produce is sold in supermarkets in Québec and other provinces, as well as in the United States.

Market gardeners committed to sustainability and innovation

The Leclair family believes in a positive attitude, dedication to excellence, and know-how as essential qualities for growing quality produce. Looking to the past for inspiration is a good place to start, but looking ahead to the future is also indispensable. In constant pursuit of innovation, our team applies good agricultural practices that respect the land, promote sustainable development, and ensure our future.

To that end, the company enforces a stringent on-farm food safety and traceability program. We are a member of the Prism consortium, an organization committed to crop tracing and monitoring as a means of minimizing pesticide use and reducing environmental impact. We also contribute to a number of research projects investigating:

  • Fertilization;
  • Pesticide reduction;
  • Trials of new cultivars; and
  • Development of novel techniques.

Family farm

Fermes Leclair: market gardening from generation to generation since the 1800s.

Environmentally responsible farming

Dedicated to implementing practices to promote sustainable development and respect for the earth.

Tradition and innovation

Founded in 1971, Fermes Leclair remains committed to innovation in response to consumer demand.

A growing passion

More than a profession, market gardening is above all a love story.

Our Produce

Fermes Leclair specializes in growing radishes (for sale on leaves and in cellophane), green onions, Nantes carrots and carrots on leaves, as well as beets (sold on leaves and bagged). All of our vegetables are processed and packaged in our warehouses, with particular care taken in handling so as to preserve full freshness before shipping. You can take a virtual tour of the facility and share in our passion for produce.

Fermes Leclair: Drawing strength from its team

Market gardening is above all a love story: one that depends on adaptability and resilience because success hinges on weather conditions, predator management, and market demand. Working as a family and building a diverse range of expertise is a definite plus: it means there is always someone ready to take over. Fermes Leclair is not only about strong family ties, it’s also about the contributions of our extended family, made up of some 100 regular and seasonal workers from mid-June to the end of September. Nothing would be possible without this human input—hence the importance of surrounding ourselves with people committed to our shared objective: the company’s success and excellence.

Maurice Leclair

With his cheery disposition and the same passion that has driven him since he founded the farm in 1971, Maurice Leclair remains quite active on the team. While continuing to take an interest in the full range of operations, he is now mainly responsible for the design, assembly and management of our packing lines.

Diane Leclair

Diane has a diploma in farm management, and knew from a very young age that she would one day want to take over running the farm with her brother Jocelyn. While she is essentially in charge of the company’s administrative management, handling human resources and sales, Diane also oversees production, from harvesting to shipping.

Jocelyn Leclair

Jocelyn has a diploma in organic fruit and vegetable farming and is closely involved in managing Fermes Leclair’s operations. He also supervises all research and development, aimed at implementing good agricultural practices as part of a comprehensive vision. He is Chair of the Pôle d’excellence en lutte intégrée (PELI), or centre of excellence for integrated pest management, which promotes more widespread use of alternatives to pesticides and contributes to reducing their use in fruit and vegetable farming. He is also Chair of Phytodata Inc., which offers research consulting services to farm companies as well as manufacturers and distributors of phytosanitary solutions (fertilizers, seeds and other specific techniques). Lastly, he is a board member of Prisme, the leading farm crop tracing and monitoring network in Québec.

Gabriel, Rosalie, Benjamin et Nicolas

You could say that Jocelyn’s and Diane’s children were born on the farm. They help out with company operations in various areas when they’re not busy in the classroom. While some of them are intent on a career with us, we realize that at their age, the future is yet to be written. Perhaps in a few years’ time we’ll be able to say that the family business’s succession is well and truly assured!

 

Did you know?

Some facts about radish

The sulphur compounds in radish (specifically glycosides) are responsible for its characteristic pungent flavour. These substances stimulate our digestive juices and appetite, but not everyone likes them. To increase tolerance, choose fairly young, small...

Read More

450 million seeds sown

We sow around 450 million vegetable seeds every year. Before one season is completed, we’re already getting ready to order seeds for the next. Our seed shipments then arrive beginning in March. After receiving...

Read More
You want to know more?

Contact us now !

    Fermes Leclair

    The Leclair family is driven by a passion for market gardening handed down from one generation to the next since the 1800s. For fresh produce, grown with love and eco-responsibly on the South Shore of Montréal, choose carrots, radishes, green onions, beets, watermelons and fine herbs from Fermes Leclair.

    Contact Information

    157, Rang St Pierre O. Sherrington, QC J0L 2N0
    Phone : 450 454-9027

    Follow Us

Fermes Leclair

Une ferme familiale spécialisée en culture maraîchère sur la Rive-Sud de Montréal

Chez Les Fermes Leclair, la culture maraîchère est plus qu’un métier; c’est une véritable passion qui se transmet d’une génération à l’autre depuis les années 1800. Officiellement fondée en 1971 par André, Ernest et Maurice Leclair, l’entreprise est exploitée par Maurice, ses enfants Jocelyn et Diane depuis 1995; au fil des ans, les petits-enfants Benjamin, Gabriel, Nicolas et Rosalie se sont joints à l’équipe afin de former la relève.

Aujourd’hui, c’est une superficie de quelque 800 acres (320 hectares) qui est dédiée à la production maraîchère dans la région fertile de St-Patrice-de-Sherrington en Montérégie.

Appliquant des principes de culture écoresponsable, l’entreprise cultive et emballe des carottes, des radis, des oignons verts, des betteraves, des fines herbes et des melons d’eau. À chaque année, d’autres fruits et légumes frais sont ajoutés en fonction de la demande des consommateurs et parce que l’innovation est une valeur forte au sein du clan familial. Une grande partie de la production est vendue dans les supermarchés du Québec, des autres provinces et également aux États-Unis.

Des maraîchers qui ont à cœur le développement durable et l’innovation

Pour la Famille Leclair, attitude positive, dépassement de soi et savoir-faire sont des qualités essentielles pour cultiver des produits de qualité. S’inspirer du passé est un bon point de départ, mais voir plus loin est aussi primordial. C’est un intérêt constant pour l’innovation qui permet à l’équipe de mettre en place les meilleures pratiques de culture pour respecter la terre, promouvoir le développement durable et assurer son avenir.

À cet effet, l’entreprise applique un programme rigoureux de salubrité et de traçabilité à la ferme. Elle est membre du Consortium Prisme, organisme engagé dans le dépistage et le suivi des cultures, pour minimiser l’utilisation des pesticides et réduire l’impact sur l’environnement. Elle participe également à divers projets de recherche portant sur :

  • la fertilisation
  • la réduction de l’usage des pesticides
  • l’essai de nouveaux cultivars
  • la mise au point de nouvelles techniques

Ferme familiale

Chez les Fermes Leclair, la culture maraîchère de génération en génération depuis les années 1800.

Ferme écoresponsable

De meilleures pratiques pour promouvoir le développement durable et le respect de la terre.

Tradition et innovation

Fondées en 1971, les Fermes Leclair continuent d’innover en fonction de la demande des consommateurs.

Passion de la culture

Plus qu’un métier, la culture maraîchère, c’est avant tout une histoire d’amour.

Nos Produits

Les Fermes Leclair et Frères sont spécialisés dans la production de radis à feuilles et cello, d’oignons verts, de carottes nantaises et carottes à feuilles, de betteraves à feuilles et en sac. Tous nos produits sont transformés et emballés à même nos entrepôts. Un soin particulier est apporté à la manipulation afin de préserver toute la fraîcheur de nos produits avant l’expédition. Une visite virtuelle vous est offerte sur ce site afin de vous faire partager notre passion.

Les Fermes Leclair. La force d’une équipe.

La production maraîchère est avant tout une histoire d’amour qui demande adaptation et résilience puisqu’elle est tributaire des conditions climatiques, de la gestion des prédateurs et de la demande du marché. Travailler en famille et diversifier l’expertise de chacun est un avantage certain, car il y a toujours une relève prête à prendre le relais. Les Fermes Leclair, c’est non seulement des liens familiaux solides, mais aussi une famille élargie par la contribution de près de 100 travailleurs réguliers et saisonniers de la mi-juin jusqu’à la fin du mois de septembre. Sans cet apport humain, rien n’est possible; d’où l’importance de s’entourer de gens qui travaillent avec le même objectif : la réussite et l’excellence de l’entreprise.

Maurice Leclair

Le regard rieur et aussi passionné que lorsqu’il a contribué à fonder l’entreprise en 1971, Maurice Leclair est encore bien actif au sein de l’équipe. Bien qu’il continue de s’intéresser à l’ensemble des opérations, il est principalement responsable de la conception, de la fabrication et de la gestion des lignes d’emballage.

Diane Leclair

Diplômée en gestion agricole, Diane savait très jeune qu’elle souhaitait un jour reprendre les opérations de la ferme avec son frère Jocelyn. Essentiellement responsable de la gestion administrative de l’entreprise, elle gère les ressources humaines et les ventes; elle est ainsi responsable des produits, de la récolte, jusqu’à l’expédition.

Jocelyn Leclair

Diplômé en agriculture maraîchère biologique et très impliqué dans la direction des opérations chez Les Fermes Leclair, Jocelyn effectue également toute la recherche et développement afin de mettre en place les meilleures pratiques agricoles dans une vision à grande échelle. À cet égard, il est président du Pôle d’excellence en lutte intégrée (PELI) qui vise à implanter plus largement l’utilisation d’alternatives aux pesticides et contribue ainsi à la réduction de leur usage dans les cultures de fruits et légumes.  Il est aussi président de Phytodata Inc. qui propose un service de recherche aux entreprises agricoles, ainsi qu’à des manufacturiers et distributeurs de produits phytosanitaires (engrais, semences et autres outils techniques spécifiques). Finalement, il siège comme administrateur auprès du Consortium Prisme,  le plus important réseau de dépistage en cultures maraîchères au Québec.

Gabriel, Rosalie, Benjamin et Nicolas

Les enfants de Jocelyn et de Diane sont pour ainsi dire, nés sur la ferme. À cet égard, ils prennent part aux opérations de l’entreprise, à différents niveaux, lorsqu’ils ne sont pas sur les bancs d’école. Si pour certains il est clair que le futur se passera sur ces terres, il n’en demeure pas moins qu’à leur âge, tout est encore à bâtir. Peut-être sera-t-il possible de dire dans quelques années que la relève est bel et bien assurée de ce côté.

 

Saviez-vous que

Quelques faits sur le radis

Les composés soufrés du radis (en particulier les glucosides) sont responsables de sa saveur piquante très caractéristique. Ces substances stimulent les sécrétions digestives et l’appétit, mais sont plus ou moins bien tolérées selon les...

Lire la suite
Vous voulez en savoir plus?

Contactez-nous maintenant !

Fermes Leclair

La Famille Leclair est passionnée de culture maraîchère de génération en génération depuis les années 1800. Pour des produits frais, cultivés avec amour et de façon écoresponsable sur la Rive-Sud de Montréal, choisissez les carottes, radis, oignons verts, betteraves, melons d'eau et fines herbes des Fermes Leclair.

Coordonnées

157, Rang St Pierre O. Sherrington, QC J0L 2N0
Téléphone : 450 454-9027

Suivez-nous